24th July 2019

Saturday Golf

Ross Nesbit (15) put together a fine round of consistent tee-to-green play to win last Saturday’s Stableford event with 39 points. His better than handicap score topped second place finisher, Paul Goodson (11) who also played above his handicap recording 38 points. In third place was Chris Waterson who finished with the best stroke round of seven over par 78 and 37 points. 

Luke Hadfield (16) completed the ball pool with 3 points.

Nearest to the pins: N/C (3rd), Paul Goodson (5th), John Murphy (9th), Terry Turvey - Superpin (13th), Chris Waterson (16th). Gary Hayes won the pen.

This Saturday’s event is Stableford.

Thursday Golf

Jarrad Walker (12) made up for a poor back nine playing the front nine in even par and winning with 40 points on July 18. An opening miss on the par 4 tenth hole, followed by a run of bogies before pars at holes sixteen and seventeen and another bogy on the eighteenth hole left him well behind the field with nine to play. With birdies at holes two and four countering bogies on holes five and seven, Walker’s better than handicap score was two points ahead of second place finisher, Allan Free (20).

Free’s round was generally steady, but a double bogy on the par 4 tenth hole and a miss on the par 5 first hole proved the difference. In third place was Ken Williams (22) with 36 points.

The best round of the day was an eight over par 79 by Gary Thorne (7). 

Nearest to the pins: John Murphy (3rd), N/C (5th), Don Ross (9th), Graham Wyte (13th), Tony Hall (16th). Graeme Learmonth won the pen.

Please Note: Thursday golf is open to all golfers. Registration from 12noon. Tee-off 12.45pm.

Ladies Report

Only seven players braved the cool conditions on Wednesday with Rhonda Willoughby winning with 35 points. Meryl Cameron was runner up with 32 points on a count back from Michelle Dillon. Cameron also won the Chino’s coffee voucher for nearest the pin on the ninth. Colleen Free scored the pen this week. DSR 71.  Next week is Captain’s Choice. Assemble 9.30am for 10.00 hit off.  

Jarrad Walker, winner of Thursday’s event.

Jarrad Walker, winner of Thursday’s event.